What We Can Do (Revelations)

Poetry by Ted Boughter-Dornfeld Copyright © 2009

Low and lovely,
Then climbing to
The utmost peaks,
Where harmonious horns,
Blow their splendidly sweet
Songs of redemption…
Only to slip and slide
Back down the
Mountainside
Of temptation.

Did you miss me,
My organic melody?
Ample and natural,
You make my soul feel
Completely at ease.
You swing me high,
My summer breeze.

See, without your warmth,
I scribe the blues.
If this be a dream,
Then please,
Hit the snooze;
I’d like to stay
Intoxicated by you.
Mind and body fuse,
And it seems good fortune
Must come in twos –

Ms. Allison,
My aim is true.
You breathe life to my words,
Like Langston Hughes.
Ode to a sugary love,
More deliberate than clues,
I hope these revelations
Are just old news.

Leave a Reply

