The Man Who Seeks The Harvest Fly

This man that moves in front of me,
He must know something more than I.

His steps are sure, his limbs are spry,
He’s not afraid to say goodbye –

To the noise of his native metropolis,
Or the bumbling bees amidst Versailles.

He’s searching night and day, of course,
For the summer song of the harvest fly.

See me, I’m just an average guy,
Who spends his time in the countryside.

So as I stumble on concrete streets,
The city beats in warm July;

While the traveling man’s gaze on the fading sky
Obscures his view of the lonely cowpie.

Poetry by Ted Boughter-Dornfeld Copyright © 2011

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AJ Barlow
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 23:48:51

    This is a great poem. Thanks for sharing, the contrast between the city and the countryside reminds me a little of a poem I wrote. You’re welcome to check it out here if you’d like.
    http://thoughtfulimpressionspoetry.wordpress.com/2011/10/13/a-poem-of-solace/

    Either way, Great job!

    Reply

  2. musetherapy
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 22:19:11

    AJ –

    I really appreciate the feedback, and I am humbled by your commendation. I really like your poem “The Cabin There” (as well as your other poetry), and I can see how my poem reminds you of yours. The city/country theme and your poem ultimately remind me that we are all in some way looking for our own cabin.

    Thanks again for stopping by, I’ll be sure to do the same in the future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

